This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

9.4 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.5
Property Location
9.6
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.8
Value
8.9
Reviews
    Kenneth
    us
    10
    May 31, 2017
    Great stay
    Great relaxing atmosphere. Quiet peaceful
    Mark
    us
    9.6
    May 15, 2017
    Homey and well taken care of.
    High mineral content of water gave it a smell that wasn't our favorite
    Great home cooked meal. Owner host was so nice and unbelievably gracious.
    aditya
    us
    8.3
    April 28, 2017
    great view
    the fact that it is out side the city, which makes aurora easily viewable. and staff was very friendly
    Tuo
    us
    9.2
    April 10, 2017
    Excellent!
    Maria Lourdes
    us
    9.6
    March 31, 2017
    Great Location to see the Northern Lights!!!
    I really liked everything! Our room was really comfortable and had a great view. Our host Anita was really kind and helped us with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. She even has extra winter jackets, pants and shoes if you need them. The homemade breakfast was amazing!!!! I was able to get great pics of the lights!!!!
    Lynn
    us
    10
    March 25, 2017
    Wonderful find in Fairbanks!
    Delightful hosts!
    Tianchuan
    us
    9.2
    March 21, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michelle
    us
    8.8
    March 3, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    SarahEMason
    us
    10
    February 15, 2017
    Best place to stay in Fairbanks
    The lodge was super cozy and comfy. The room was large with lots of drawers and compartments for unpacking. Lots of towels in the bathroom and a cabidet to store toiletries which was rare and helpful. There's toiletries provided, shampoo, conditioner, soap. The beds were so comfortable, which is a crucial issue for me when I travel. I have had over a dozen orthopedic surgeries so trying to find a bed that I can sleep on without waking up in pain is a challenge. I slept better on this bed than I do at home. We had a balcony which was lovely to step out onto and view the beautiful property scenery and feel that refreshing cold air. There is kitchen access which was extremely helpful as we were able to get groceries and cook in a couple nights saving us a lot of money. The location is stellar -- close enough to town yet it feels remote and tucked away. It's a good go between town and Chena Hot Springs (which is a must do). The breakfast each morning was wonderful and a much appreciated start to the day. The owner and staff were exceptional and really made us feel at home. The dogs and kitty were super friendly and added bonus for our animal loving selves. They made the experience feel even more homey. Although we didn't see the Northern Lights, it's a great spot to view them from the balcony. Check the aurora forecast and plan it out and you will probably get lucky. This trip was a combo of business and leisure for us and it worked out nicely for both with the free WiFi particularly and proximity to town. We are planning to come back to Fairbanks and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Grizzly Lodge. Loved it.
    BekkiJanel
    nz
    10
    January 24, 2017
    I didn't like that I had to leave, I just wanted to continue sitting beside the fireplace next to the dogs.
    Incredible lodge. The ambience makes you feel as if you're at home. The lounge is full of interesting items, the bookshelves are full, there's a fire to sit beside and multiple musical instruments if the mood strikes you. Breakfast is phenomenal. There's 3 friendly dogs and a cat to keep you company. The rooms are super comfortable and homely. I wasn't lucky enough to see the northern lights due to weather, but in proper conditions it would be possible due to the lodges' positioning. Saw a baby and mother moose in the garden one morning too. Anita is so lovely, I cannot say enough for her as the host. She was full of information and care and even lent me clothes and a hat to go dog sledding with. Matt organised a trip for me and also was full of quirky information about the surrounding area and how to read the northern light forecasts. Both were a joy to interact with.
    us
    10
    January 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Li
    cn
    10
    January 3, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Maggie
    hk
    10
    January 3, 2017
    Very reliable host and helpful staff
    The last sign of the lodge is not very visible in the night, both of us and some other guests drived to the wrong way before arrival.
    Anita informed us immediately when she saw the aurora display, we managed to see it for a few minutes then clouds covered the sky again. It's the last night of five nights we stayed in Fairbanks, a severe snow storm hit west Alaska, it has been very cloudy and snowy for almost our entire stay here, Anita helped us catching the extreme precious opportunity, we saw the breath taking aurora display just at the lodge balcony, which making our winter trip perfect. Breakfast here is very homey and delicious, Anita and her staff prepare yummy roasted potatoes and different fresh cooked protein every morning over our stay. She also serve guests homemade blueberry jam from time to time . Anita and staff Mike are very responsive, they tried their best to make our stay very comfortable, also helped us with their knowledges of local attractions.
    Jon
    us
    9.2
    April 5, 2016
    Rustic lodge in the Alaskan wildness
    Seem like it hasn't been updated since the 1970s.
    Excellent rooms and furniture
    Stephanie
    us
    10
    March 30, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    New to Alaska
    us
    10
    March 30, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Stephanie
    us
    10
    March 13, 2016
    Nothing not to like. Need a car to get back and forth to town for other activities and dining. Although they do have a guest kitchen if you wish to use it
    Very comfortable room and bed. Quiet. Lovely , friendly and helpful hostess. Good home-cooked breakfasts. I.e.: apple cobbler, egg soufflé, quiche. Great aurora viewing !
Close